20 Questions

Sharon Ness • Just Like Home School Age Child Care

item4

NAME: Sharon Ness

Business: Just Like Home School Age Child Care

Title/position: Co-owner/teacher

Hometown: Kasson

Family: Husband Dallas, daughters, Marlo (Aaron), Katie (Jeff), Maggie (Joe), and Rachel (Kirk), grandchildren, Gabe, Austin, Laney, Bode, Miles, Jordy, and one on the way in February.

College/Education/Training: BS in Home Ec. from the University of MN, extra classes in Early Childhood Education

Organizations/volunteer involvement: : St. John's Lutheran Church volunteer work, American Red Cross Heroes Walk, Festival in the Park judge, and we try to support K-M Care & Share and other fundraisers with donations. The kids at JLH, with help from the community, have raised over $15,000 for the American Red Cross, have tied many fleece blankets for Ronald McDonald House, and stuffed and mailed over 100 shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child.

Length of time in business: 10 years

What do you enjoy most about your work: I love observing the kids and their interactions and how they learn and grow. I love having conversations with them. I think back to some of my worst days-when my dad died and after my surgery and being with the kids helped me forget the bad things and made me focus on the moment.

A typical day consists of: Supervising kids, taking care of the banking, bill paying and licensing.

Your most despised chore: Cleaning here at JLH—too many bathrooms and floors to wash!

What motivates you: Wanting to make a difference. Getting to know the young families in our community. Having the chance to make a difference however small.

Greatest accomplishment: Raising four wonderful daughters, providing a happy home for them and giving them the tools to do the same.

Who do you admire? Anyone with a thankful heart. People who can focus on what they do have and not what they do not have. I think about my dad-he had lost his cognitive function regarding numbers. He accepted that and was always thankful for everything anyone did for him. What was really remarkable was that he could remember anyone's name when he saw them-and he knew many people. He was always happy to see them and call them by name.

Hobbies: I love to garden, read and travel and spend time with my grandchildren.

Favorite color: It depends. Right now it is turquoise. Might be brown the next time you ask.

Favorite food: Crème Brule. (You probably should not print this but the Hubbell House has the best, better than what I had in Paris!)

Best vacation: I have been to Ireland two times, recently traveled to Greece, this past summer spent time in a log home in the Grand Tetons. All of the trips were special.

As a child what did you want to grow up to be: secretary

How would you like to be remembered? As a kind, dependable, and loving person.

bdburst
newheader
statetheatre1

© Copyright Dodge County Independent 2014

507-634-7503 - 105 1st Ave NW - Kasson, MN - dci@kmtel.com

Contact UsReport site issueHome PageAbout Us


Latest Kasson, Minnesota, weather
advertisehere

News

editorial

local

sports

school

family

Obituaries

Classifieds

Legals

Celebrations

Order Photos

Business Directory

Links

Rates

Home Page

womeninbusinessheader
praiseworship2
petoftheweek