20 Questions

Tammy Marquez • Bursch Travel

item4

NAME: Tammy Marquez

Business: Bursch Travel

Title/position: Travel agent

Hometown: Born in North Attleboro, MA, lived there until I was 10 years old, then moved to Burlington, IA, have been in Kasson for 15 years.

Family: My four kids; Jeff 24, Hailey 15, Brendan 14, and Hannah 11 are my immediate family. I also have two parents, one sister, two brothers, two sister-in-laws, one brother-in-law, five nieces and two nephews.

College/Education/Training: BA/Social Work, and all the training involved with being a travel agent for 15 years

Organizations/volunteer involvement: Bursch Travel is affiliated with American Express and that has provided many different opportunities.

Length of time in business: I have been a travel agent for 15 years. 4 and 1/2 of those years have been with Bursch.

What do you enjoy most about your work: Trying to find the best deal. I also love being able to help people put together the trip of a lifetime for their families.

A typical day consists of: Trying to find the best deal! We work with several different companies so my day is spent going from company to company seeing who has the best price.

Your most despised chore: Folding laundry

What motivates you: My children

Greatest accomplishment: My kids and going back to college to finish my degree while working.

Who do you admire? My ex-husband David. He is a recovering alcoholic who has drastically turned his life around in the last four years. He has shown me that it is possible to overcome something negative that has a complete grip on your life. To wake up each morning and be the best person you can be and to let God deal with the rest.

Hobbies: Digital scrapbooking, used to be regular scrapbooking but I have gotten lazy.

Favorite color: My favorite color seems to change yearly. At this moment its red.

Favorite food: Seafood, pretty much anything that used to live in water.

Best vacation: Going to Puerto Rico with my parents when I was 14 and celebrating Christmas on the beach.

As a child what did you want to grow up to be: I really didn't know...maybe a nurse.

How would you like to be remembered? As a person who would do anything for anybody in anyway and for raising children who are not criminals. (laughs). Children who are good people.

bdburst
newheader
statetheatre1

© Copyright Dodge County Independent 2014

507-634-7503 - 105 1st Ave NW - Kasson, MN - dci@kmtel.com

Contact UsReport site issueHome PageAbout Us


Latest Kasson, Minnesota, weather
advertisehere

News

editorial

local

sports

school

family

Obituaries

Classifieds

Legals

Celebrations

Order Photos

Business Directory

Links

Rates

Home Page

womeninbusinessheader
praiseworship2
petoftheweek